About the Post

Author Information

Neighborhood Regular, UX Designer/Architect, Social Activist

Dedicated to Mattie Posth … aka Maggie

This is Dedicated In Loving Memory to Mattie Posth, a longtime resident of this remarkable neighborhood, Cole Valley, whom we lost in the last week of June, 2011. If you saw her strolling through the neighborhood, stopping to chat with Abe at Alpha Market, or to give a good scratching to a dog at the Park near the N-Judah stop, or at Crepes on Cole midday, or at Reverie many a night, engaged in lively conversation, you knew her as a quite amazing, graceful, stunningly bright person who lit up our valley for so many years. We all miss her terribly.

Mattie in red dress

.

At the request of the family, the tribute post (“In Loving Memory… Mattie Posth”)
and its comments have been removed due to a content problem.

.

Tags: , , , ,

One Comment on “Dedicated to Mattie Posth … aka Maggie”

  1. Aileen Long July 29, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    I was walking to Booksmith when I saw the pictures in Say Cheese & Reverie, so I stopped. I checked out the video & pictures on the Internet. I made copies of some of the pictures & watched the video several times- it was a touching memorial- I also liked the song in the background, Shawn Colvin’s cover of “Shine On You Crazy Diamond,” arranged by Viktor Krauss. It matched everything.

    I met Mattie near my apartment on Carl Street. There’s a lady who lives a few doors down the block who has 2 cats and a dog. The dog stayed inside but Mattie used to pet the cats out front. One of the cats got sick & Mattie helped the lady take care of her sad cat. Mattie told me these stories while we waited for the N-Judah @ Carl & Cole. We met there & @ Safeway @ Church & DuBoce often. She always had a big smile on her face when she used to wave to me from Reverie.

    I talked to her about music- she told me she liked the Beatles. In 2004 I told her I was going to see Paul McCartney. She told me she saw Paul McCartney in 1976 @ the Cow Palace. He was with Wings then & Linda was part of the group. Unfortunately, Linda was already dead when I saw Wings in 2004. My foster sister was at the ’76 concert & I’ve always wished I could have gone. I had a chance to go, but I didn’t . . . 7 years ago, I was standing in line with Mattie @ Amoeba, waiting to pay for my purchases. I asked what CD she was buying & she said “Joshua Tree,” by U2. She told me she had a favorite on that album, “Where the Streets Have No Name.”

    Last year she told me her brother had a swimming pool here in Cole Valley. I told her I saw that pool once years before- the gate happened to be open- a rare backyard in Cole Valley. Last year she told me she had lived in her apartment for 16 years & that her apartment was very depressing. I said ‘Well, at least you live in a nice neighborhood.’ She didn’t comment, she just smiled at me.

    I’m sorry I didn’t go to her memorial on July 2. I didn’t find out about it until I read the announcements on Friday @ Say Cheese & Reverie. I was quite surprised, since I never expected such a tragedy from her. I am going to miss her a lot. She had a beautiful smile & was always joyful to talk to. Thanks for the bright photos & written memories. I’m going to make copies of all of them & I will never forget her.

    Aileen

